Please clarify - 3 months medically supervised weight loss & exercise program.

Lori Risner
on 9/20/12 2:57 pm - OR
RNY on 03/12/13
I am new to Obesity help.com.  My name is Lori and I am going to have a roux-en-y procedure done in the next few months.  I am on Federal Blue Cross Blue Shield (Standard).  My insurance company requires me to be on a medically supervised weight loss & exercise program for three months. 

So here's the dumb question...  I know the insurance company says three months, but my doctor's office is saying three visits separated by a month... 

My first appointment is on 9/24, next would be on or around 10/24,  and then the final around 11/24.  That is three visits but not three months... 

I would appreciate any information that you could share on any of your experiences...

Also, I am afraid if I lose any weight, the insurance company will say that I am able to do it without the surgery.  I hope not because history has shown with me, I just gain it all back and more.

Please help me! 
GraceGirl
on 9/20/12 6:52 pm
I have cigna and mine was 6 months of nutrition visits... And yes they were particular in dates 6 visits around the same date each month.

No they wont say that...its more or less to prove you are willing/able to follow a program.
very important to prepare....Life is quite different post RNY :)

"If you're interested in achieving success, you'll do what's convenient. When you are committed to success, you'll do whatever it takes."

ready2be140
on 9/20/12 6:56 pm - WA
RNY on 08/29/12
 I am with Aetna....and they dont count the "first" meeting as month 1....so with them,  you would go 4 times (or 4 months vs 3)....And with my surgeon, he required me to lose at least 30 pounds before surgery so that it would be "safer" so even though I was losing weight during my medically supervised/nutritional counseling , my insurance approved my request the first time submittted.