Gaining after 2.5 years

Rosestar
on 1/14/13 1:56 am

I was at 140, a good weight for me. Now, after 8 weeks I have gained 16 lbs! I am eating the same and have the same level of activity. It seems that I have read about others gaining. What should I do? Rose

poet_kelly
on 1/14/13 2:02 am - OH

That seems like a lot to gain in just eight weeks - that's two pounds a week.  Are you sure you aren't getting more calories somewhere?  If you're not, are you maybe retaining water?  If you're sure you haven't increased your calories, I think I'd go see your doc for a check up to try to figure out what's going on.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Rosestar
on 1/14/13 2:11 am

My first thought is that my thyroid is bonkers. I am going through a divorce and quite stressed. I could be eating extra calories and not expending. Its frightening how fast the weight is coming back on. Makes me wanna starve. I will not go backward into being too heavy!!!

cajungirl
on 1/14/13 2:14 am

Do you log your intake?  Sometimes we eat more than we think we have (calorie wise) and logging occasionally helps keep things in perspective.  Also remember, the malabsorption you had initially after surgery is slowly decreasing as the body restores villi.

This is the time you should really consider and track your intake to determine what your personal needs are to maintain.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05

9 years committed ~  100% EWL and Maintaining

www.dazzlinglashesandbeyond.com

Barbara C.
on 1/14/13 2:15 am - Raleigh, NC

Rose,