Do you swallow your vitamins -- when can I??

Sherrie P.
on 2/15/13 12:00 pm
RNY on 02/06/13

This chewing vitamin stuff is nasty.

My plan says, "can switch to swallowing pills when well tolerated."

I intend to get further input at my follow up next week.

If you swallow yours, when did you start?

I currently swallow my protonix and colace and tylenol without issue.

Revision Lapband to RNY 2-6-2013   HW: 286  Pre-Op Diet: 277  Surgery Day: 265  Goal: 155  CW: 155

Plastic surgery 8/28/2014: Brachioplasty, mastopexy, & abdominoplasty.

Plastic surgery 1/27/2015: Butt Lift

poet_kelly
on 2/15/13 12:20 pm - OH

If you can swallow other pills OK, you should be able to swallow vitamins OK too.

I was swallowing pills the day of surgery, but I did chewable vitamins the first couple weeks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Wanda K.
on 2/15/13 9:08 pm - Hope Mills, NC
RNY on 04/09/12

I know I took chewables until they were gone, roughly two months because I was scared the pills were going to get stuck and clog the revision (read some stories about erosion from pills) and didn't want to waste money.  I was taking pill form after that and haven't had any problems since then.  The largest pill I take is my MVI, which is a Thera-M and all the rest are smaller pills including my calcium, which are the petites.  I still do take chewable iron and vitamin C because they don't taste that bad.  I was told I could change to pill form when I wanted but chose to wait to finish the chewables first.

Wanda 

HW: 282, SW: 244.4, CW: 211, GW: 140   

SoCaPinkLady
on 2/15/13 10:27 pm - CA
RNY on 06/11/12