Newbie Pre-op not losing on 1500 cal diet

Pookah
on 3/26/13 12:52 pm - Dallas, TX

Newbie here.  I'm a pre-op and I've been on a 1,500 cal diet for about a month and a half.  I did go out to eat 3 times, but I have been very faithful to my diet, eating between 1400-1600 calories, walking 3-5x a week and cutting out soda.

I have been losing and gaining the same 10 lbs the entire time.  In fact im 1.8 lbs up from a month ago.

I am so incredibly frustrated.  I'm afraid the dr is going to think i've been cheating.  I've been meticulous with logging everything I eat in spark people.

Any words of wisdom out there?  Should I try to cut my calories more?

Thanks!

Pookah

poet_kelly
on 3/26/13 1:10 pm - OH

No, I wouldn't cut your calories more at this point.  I would talk to your doctor, show him your food log, and ask for advice.  And I would be honest - if you've "cheated" on the diet sometimes, admit it.  because not admitting it only cheats yourself, you know?  the doctor's job is to help you lose weight.  He can't do that if you're not honest with him.

Please understand, I'm not saying I think you've been cheating.  I'm just saying, be honest.

Probably your metabolism is not so good, which is probably part of why you're needing to have wls to begin with..  If your doctor doesn't understand that, you might need to see a different doctor.

If your doctor advises reducing your calories more, than do so.  but talk to him, or to a registered dietician, first.