Required Documentation Before Surgery

Lucy S.
on 10/25/13 5:45 am
RNY on 03/18/14 with

Hi All - just curious what kind of documentation you all needed for your insurance when it came to a "medically supervised weight management program"?  I have Cigna that requires 3 months of that, but I know most insurance companies require it. Just wondering what level of detail your documentation had? Was it just doctor's notes with your weight and stating what diet and exercise plan you were on or was it more detailed with a food and exercise diary? 

HW: 263  CW:245  GW: 140 

poet_kelly
on 10/25/13 5:56 am - OH

I did not have to do a supervised diet.

I would check with your insurance company, though, to make sure you understand exactly what they require.  Don't rely on anyone here to tell you, or on your doctor to know.  Make sure you know so they don't have an excuse to deny your surgery.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PetHairMagnet
on 10/25/13 6:48 am
RNY on 05/13/13

I have Aetna and so do some people in the practice where I had my surgery was but we had VERY different experiences. Because it has a lot to do with your individual policy and how it is written. 

My thought was, based on some of the things I have read here, what was required of me was fairly minimal, but VERY specific. I had to see my doctor every 30 days, but if I saw him on the 1st and 31st, it did not count. So I had to 'play the game' of going into the next month twice and learned to schedule on the 2nd so that I could see him on the 30th day and be okay.