Just curious

chaly
on 1/15/14 8:51 am
RNY on 11/05/13

I had something new happen today.  I'm too worried as of yet, but merely curious as to what you think.  This morning I woke up and made a protein drink out of water.   It is the same protein I have been using since before surgery.  Anyway, immediately after finishing it I got very hot and sweaty.  I also was nauseated.  It lasted about 20 minutes and I was fine.  Tonight my honey picked me up a cheddar broccoli soup and the same thing happened.  I can understand the soup may have something I shouldn't have eaten, but the protein?  What is up with that?  Suggestions?

poet_kelly
on 1/15/14 8:55 am - OH

I don't know.  Sounds a little like low blood sugar.  Do you have a glucometer?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

chaly
on 1/15/14 8:58 am
RNY on 11/05/13

No, I don't.  I have never been diabetic.  I did have to take glucose after surgery in the hospital though.  I just don't understand why does it happen immediately after eating. Wouldn't my blood sugar raise?

poet_kelly
on 1/15/14 9:01 am - OH

Typically that's what happens, yes.  But since it sounds a little like low blood sugar, I thought if you had a glucometer, then if it happens again you could check it just to see.

I think my suggestion would be to eat small amounts more often, at least for a few days, to see if that makes it quit happening, whatever it is.  And if it keeps happening, then I'd call your doc.  Sometimes we just have weird reactions to things and can't figure out why, and if it doesn't happen repeatedly, then it's probably nothing to worry about.  But if it keeps happening, then you'd want to figure it out.