Arthritis help

eeyoremom2
on 5/19/14 10:33 am - WI
RNY on 06/01/12

Good evening, I am new to all of this pain stuff and have been diagnosed with facet joint arthritis. I have had a nerve ablation done to help, since i was having such horrendous pain, I still have a lot of pain and stiffness especially with rainy weather and early morning and late at night. I have done PT and hasnt really helped I try to exercise but some days the pain is just so unbearable. What are the best remedies to help with arthritis. Are there any supplements that have been scientifcally proven to help? I have missed a lot of work due to my pain and i want to try and get a full handle on this the best i can so I can enjoy my life. Any suggestions or input would be appreciated.

5' 2" HW: 240.2 SW: 234.2 CW: 162.1 GW: 137lbs                  

"No dream is out of reach as long as you believe it."

"With faith all things are possible" 

poet_kelly
on 5/19/14 10:54 am - OH

Scientifically proven?  Eh.... not exactly.

My rheumatologist recommended glucosamin/chondroitin, but research on it is mixed, as far as I could find.  I started taking it three months ago on her advice, though.  Is it helping?  I don't know.  Maybe some.  I still have a lot of pain.

I've been taking turmeric for quite a while now, probably about a year.  It is supposed to have anti-inflammatory properties.  I do believe it helps.  I had to stop taking it for a couple weeks when I had a breast biopsy and I did notice an increase in pain at that time, which improved when I started taking it again.  It's something you have to take for several weeks before noticing an improvement.  And it's not like it gets rid of all the pain, it just helps some.

A hot bath in the morning is what helps me the most with morning stiffness.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly