Need Lunch Ideas

severman
on 5/20/14 11:57 pm - Indianapolis, IN

I am 11 years post op RNY, so I shouldn't have any problems coming up with healthy lunch ideas.  But I do!!  I am a full time nursing student.  I do not have access to a refrigerator to store fresh food in.  Last semester I took tuna salad almost every day because the kits were easy and cheap, but I am tired of them.  So I am asking for ideas that are high in protein, easy to fix, and don't need refrigeration.  I also have a commute to school, it is about 90 minutes each way.  Luckily I carpool and we don't stop at fastfood, but I also need ideas for breakfast.  Any input would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,

Stephanie E

gtrdyfor50
on 5/21/14 12:00 am
RNY on 10/08/13
You may want to check out the daily "what are you eating today" posts on this board. There are tons of ideas in those.

poet_kelly
on 5/21/14 12:02 am - OH

Well, I'd eat breakfast in the car.  I usually have a protein shake for breakfast, but a protein bar, or yogurt, or a cup of oatmeal with protein powder added would all be easy to eat on the drive.

For lunch, can you use an ice pack to keep food cold?  Then you could take yogurt, cottage cheese, salads, hard boiled eggs, string cheese, chicken salad or egg salad, etc.  Or fresh veggies and hummus.  Oh, and I love apples with almond butter.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

healthyme1963
on 5/21/14 1:42 am, edited 5/21/14 1:43 am
RNY on 03/18/14