Scared

Canadian_Girl
on 12/3/14 1:53 am

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting to the boards but as I go for my first intake appointment in a few weeks I am feeling a little nervous.

I am from Alberta and here weight loss surgery is covered by our health care and I am lucky enough to live in one of few cities where there is a bariatric speciality clinic so that I don't have to travel to one. Initially I was dead set on having the sleeve and didn't want to have the bypass because of it being more invasive and there being a greater chance of complications. I have talked to some of the people that have had their surgery through the clinic here and I guess if you have GERD the surgeon won't do the sleeve. Well I constantly have heartburn and indigestion and so I know that bypass will be the only option for me.

I am hoping that maybe my mind can be eased by some of your experiences. I am so tired of being morbidly obese and will do the surgery either way but I am so scared of dealing with dumping syndrome and the possibility of not being able to eat things as simple as pork or beef anymore (have read this a couple times).

Any words of encouragement would be great.

TIA

LilySlim Weight loss tickers

Caroline K.
on 12/3/14 3:52 am

Hi there!

I'm from Ontario, and had my surgery done in April. Honestly, it's been pretty fabulous for the most part. The only issue I encountered was the need for my gallbladder to come out 2 weeks ago (apparently being female, severely obese, over a certain age, and then losing weight quickly) really ramped up the attacks until it just had to come out. I had GERD, so the sleeve wasn't an option. The RNY really helped with the GERD, so that I rarely need to take anything for it.