Fuel for long workouts

meganmcg
on 4/24/15 3:14 am

Hi all!

I have been doing all sorts of different types of exercise since my surgery last July. I really enjoy running and have completed a couple 5ks, and tomorrow I'm doing my first 10k. I'd like to start training for a half marathon soon, and then a marathon. I also am planning to do a 50 mile backpacking/hiking trip in June.

My question is, how do you fuel yourself for long workouts, such as long runs or hikes?

kellybelly333
on 4/24/15 5:30 am - Toronto, Canada

Hi there. Congrats on you accomplishments. I'll be running my third marathon on May 3rd, and then I will be getting into IronMan training.

I ran my first 10k distance at about 18 months post-op (not a race, just the distance). When I realized I could keep going, I started training for my first half marathon. I followed an online program, but was confused about fuelling. I talked to a few bariathletes (a term that was new to me) and they all said that it is trial and error. When you start getting into longer distances, you need more carbs to fuel, which is pretty much against the WLS standard. So the way I try to look at is the carbs you intake are for fuel only, and not a slippery slope to poor eating. 

Also, I worked up to adding carbs. It's much easier now (i'm four years out), but at this point it's also easier to gain. Which I do with each marathon I do. It comes back off after, but the carbs make me gain. 

Anyhow, I started out not really adding much more than fruit to anything under a one hour cardio workout. At not even a year out, I would say to have half a banana and almond butter 1/2 an hour before you workout. When you are starting to do more, consider gels. For a half marathon I would have three gels total. One before the race, and two during. I also had to work up to taking those, because of dumping and RH issues (which I have). The wrong gel can lead me to the washroom fast!