Can't vomit....

Heather P.
on 6/27/16 10:23 am

Let me start this by saying that before surgery I was a "puker".  If I smelled vomit or heard someone vomit, or smelled something gross I would vomit.  Everything made me vomit.  My husband said I was a professional.  

Since surgery though, there have been two times that I either ate too much or ate the wrong thing and got really sick to my stomach, but I could not vomit, no matter how hard I tried (I really wanted to get it out of my stomach).  I put my finger in my throat and everything, but nothing, just dry heaves.   Anyone else experience this?

Ht 5'7" HW 406, SW 361

RNY 3/28/16

H.A.L.A B.
on 6/27/16 10:31 am

when the food leaves the pouch - there is nothing to come up.  so in that sense - we can't vomit., Once Things get stuck and things will be in your pouch - yo may find out that you still can vomit.

I hate dry heaves...  

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

(deactivated member)
on 6/27/16 10:43 am

Try to walk it off.  I wish I had better advice. I have only thrown up like two times since surgery. I know there really isn't anything there so I try to relax walk it off or lay down and wait for it to pass. 

Deanna798
on 6/27/16 10:45 am
RNY on 08/04/15

Nothing in the pouch means not puking.  It sucks and I thank goodness I'm not a puker. I wasn't before and I'm not now.  I hate it.

Age: 44 | Height: 5' 3" | Starting January 2015: 291 | RNY 8/4/15 with Dr. Arthur Carlin| Goal: 150

Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. ~Proverbs 19:20

Heather P.
on 6/27/16 12:42 pm