Struggling with calories and hunger

khunton
on 11/3/16 12:00 pm

I'm about a year and a half out from surgery. Been in a super long stall. While meeting with my doctor last week he told me he wanted me to try to limit my calories to 800 a day. I'm having a hard time keeping under that limit and also feeling full.  I was wondering if anyone is sticking to 800 a day and could give me advice on meal plans and how to stay feeling full. 

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Ginnny
on 11/3/16 12:19 pm - Ontario, Canada
RNY on 04/11/16

I would suggest protein first of course...and dense protein at that! 

Pop on over to the Menu thread and you'll see what people are eating and how the calories total up.

What does a typical day look like for you?

khunton
on 11/3/16 2:22 pm

I work 7:30am-6pm Monday through Friday and half days Saturday and sundays. I'm a vet tech so I'm standing, walking around most of the day. 

SkinnyScientist
on 11/3/16 2:46 pm

Um..i think she was referring to what your menu looks like versus "what do you do" when asking what a typical day looks like.

RNY Surgery: 12/31/2013; 

Current weight (2/27/2015) 139lbs, ~14% body fat

Three pounds below Goal!!! Yay !  

khunton
on 11/3/16 3:03 pm

Lol silly me!

typical day is Greek yogurt the 100 or 80 calorie or premier protein shake for breakfast

morning snack yogurt or p3 snack pack

lunch chicken or turkey and veggie

dinner about the same lean meat and veggie 

H.A.L.A B.
on 11/4/16 9:10 am

no wonder you are hungry.. 

"typical day is Greek yogurt the 100 or 80 calorie or premier protein shake for breakfast

morning snack yogurt or p3 snack pack"

skip the greek yogurt and get some 2-3 HB eggs and a few bites of raw veggies..  

mid day snack - low sugar Jerky, some cheese...a few(5) nuts; or 1/4 avocado.

if 800 calories leaves you hungry - I woudl increase to 900.. with adding more fat 100 cal =10 gr of fat..(i.e. 1/2 avocado, real cheese..etc)