Help! I can't get the weight off!

DEBGG
on 12/2/20 10:10 am

I am 5 yrs out from gastric bypass. My diabetes is back ? I walk about 1 mile a day. I honestly don't eat that much but I know I'm eating the wrong things. My husband and son are here and I cook for them or they cook for all of us.
it's so hard! Do I begin with a pouch reset? Liquids for 2 weeks again? Does that really work?
please help!! I'm so sad

Melody P.
on 12/2/20 5:15 pm - Amarillo, TX

In my experience pouch resets are mostly gimmick. The most important thing is to track what you eat...every little thing. I'm still learning but I think that is all of our's stories. Track, measure and weigh your food. It is key.

come on over to the daily menu thread! It makes it a little easier to not feel more isolated in our struggles.

catwoman7
on 12/3/20 4:59 am
RNY on 06/03/15

I agree with Melody.

just go back to the basics - protein first, then nonstarchy vegetables. Then, if you still have room , then maybe an occasional small serving of fruit or complex carb (like a whole-grain product). Weigh/measure and track everything you eat. And I agree with joining the menu thread - lots of us have battled regain (or are currently battling it!)

White Dove
on 12/3/20 6:36 am - Warren, OH

Regain is the body's way of recovering from having been put through artificial starvation caused by the weight loss surgery. By being overweight, you programmed your body to believe that it needs more food and weight to stay alive.

It will fight any attempt to lose weight. If not everyone, then at least 99% of us have regain. The regain usually starts in year three after the surgery. It is called the bounceback period. While it is best to eat healthy foods for overall health, your weight gain is caused by eating more calories than you are burning.