insulin resistance and vsg

healthysoon
on 3/31/11 11:57 am - ID
I was asked by my father how the vsg helped the insuliln resistance and diabetes if it didn't have malabsorption. My A1C is perfect, 4.5 but my insulin levels are in the 2000's. I was told they are supposed to be in the 200's. Big difference. Anyway, I was talking to my dad about the surgery and he is over 400 lbs and 6'2". He has just been diagnosed with diabetes 2. So what I need to know is how does the vsg resolve these issues. I know it does I just don't know how. Kinda looking for the medical end of things. Gonna call and ask surgeon tomorrow but was wondering if anybody on here could explain it. Thanks.
Christine
The faith of a mustard seed will see me through    
Linda B.
on 3/31/11 12:38 pm
Hi Christine,
  I'm no expert, but since I had the surgery I am off my meds for diabetes. My blood sugars are perfect. I think the reason it works is because you can't eat like before. I'm not quite 3 weeks out and I have only hit 600 calories one time. most of the time my caloric intake is between 400 and 500 calories.and last week it was between 300 and 400. I think that is why the surgery works, and if you follow the program without going back to your old eating habits you will do well.I went for post op check up Monday(13 days post op ) and had lost 21 pounds. My blood pressure is so much better too!that med is on its way out too! Hope that helps, and maybe I'm wrong? Good Luck to you.
frenchred
on 3/31/11 12:47 pm
The following article points to some other factors besides the weight loss that has an impact on insulin resistance and diabetes such as reducing the ghrelin and GLP-1 levels.

http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/matrix/bt_supp0609/#/12

Hope that helps.
NewDawn50
on 3/31/11 1:37 pm
Christine,

My diabetes was pretty out of control.  Before surgery, I was on 30 units of Lantus every morning, 15 units of NovoLog for meal coverage, and Metformin 1,000 mg. morning and night.