GREAT NYT opinion piece today

k__
on 8/14/11 5:08 am - Bellevue, WA
DS on 08/06/15
This came across my twitter feed today. I know it's very relevant to feelings I'm having regarding upcoming VSG and so thought it could be for many of you too! Enjoy!

"I won't have the stomach for this" http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/14/opinion/sunday/i-wont-have -the-stomach-for-this.html?_r=1&ref=opinion
The_Chungs
on 8/14/11 5:59 am
Thanks for sharing.  It was beautifully written (I'm an English teacher so I really appreciate that).  It also made me glad that I took an OHers suggestion pre-op and indulged in food funerals, just like her!
"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step." -  Confucius  
Height:  5'10  HW:  400  SW:  374.6  GW:  160    

Crunchy As Can Be
on 8/14/11 6:50 am - NY
Yes, this was a wonderful article. Thank you so much for sharing!
 ~~Emily~~

colelea613
on 8/14/11 8:17 am - LA
With  her eating habits based in such joy and memories, I can't imagne how hard for her to let go of her "food".  For me my "food"  was a hiding place.  Food calmed my nerves and releived my boredom.  Food helped me build a wall around myself.  Protecting myself from pain and rejection.

I wish I had memories of food like her.  But then again I don't want my happiness tied to food.

I want my happiness tied to experiences: love, travel, and me.
    Cole

(deactivated member)
on 8/14/11 10:05 am
Very good article, and as someone who has some cherished food memories and looks forward to making more.. I love this sentiment she has here: They will be small, but I will try to make them grand.

I too have traveled around food, and have destination restaurants I love, and want to have more.. heck one of the things I joked about to my husband pre-op was that I'll be able to go to L2O and actually be satisfied on the tiny portions! He'll likely end up eating some from my plate even..

Thanks for posting this!

Carlen T.
on 8/14/11 10:48 am - Fort Wayne, IN