tell me your lies!

cristalpoppin
on 8/22/11 10:01 am - Austin, TX
 I want to know what you told people that you didn't want knowing that you had WLS to explain your weight loss. More specifically, what do you tell people early on when you go out to eat and they're like so ummm why are you ordering just beans? And why did you only eat four bites? 

I know so many of you are proud of your WLS and your success, BUT there are a few (hundred) people that I don't want knowing that I had a VSG. Liiiike the people I graduated highschool with persay. 

My whole family knows ... thats another couple hundred (I'm Mexican :p). So don't go thinking that I'm wallowing in shame over here, I'm not. 

I'm thinking something along the lines of having my appendix removed, my gall bladder removed, etc. ideas would be appreciated!!!

Starting weight: 350 Weight at surgery (8/12/11): 320 Long-term goal: lose 200 lbs!

jojoslim
on 8/22/11 10:07 am
My doc suggested I tell people I was having a hernia repair.  so far I just have said that I am using the shakes to help me get healthier and people seem content with that.  I've told 5 people all up - and 3 of them I live with.  

twellington1
on 8/22/11 10:19 am - NH
I have told alot of people that I am close to, but most everyone else I have just explained my weightloss so far as me watching what I eat.  My boss had been on a high protein diet a few months ago and I tell everyone that I am following her diet ( I am kind of) . As for my absence from work (my surgery is in 6 days)  I have been vague with people that do not need to know and just said I am going out on medical leave and that I would be back in a month.  People that need to know have the information.  If there is gossip so be it!!! My family and close friends know about it and luckly are very supportive. Good luck however you decide to handle it.

Mom4Jazz
on 8/22/11 10:21 am