Two Really Cool Activities To Turbocharge Weightloss / Muscletone / Flexability

svelteNgorgeous
on 2/11/12 12:38 pm
I've had zero experience with either of these phycical activities prior to my VSG. Since then however I've been alert to discover new and effective ways to reach my personal health objectives.

I was committed to a permanent lifestyle change when I made the decision to have VSG. The very first time I saw my surgeon (Dr. Edward Yatco - much love) after my surgery, I was walking the hospital floor (still IV'd and pushing the IV thingy (not a medical term)).

A little background about me: I've had intermittment bouts of athletic achievement in between periods of overeating / drinking and sedentary living. I did, as you should, consult my primary care physician and was cleared before engaging in strenuous physical activity.

So, let's get busy...here's what is working for me and what I know without any doubt will work for you also, if you commit to it.

1) Kettlebell / Bodyweight Exercises

A kettlebell is an iron weight shaped like a cannonball with a handle. Extreme caution must be exercised to learn and adhere to proper form in executing these movements. The hardstyle ketlebell swing, snatch and goblet squat are the fundimental movements. Begin slowly, carefully and very light and progress as your body will allow. I've found this site to be the best online kettlebell resource: http://www.dragondoor.com/

The other movements I engage on a regular basis are the pull-up and dip. When I began I was unable to do even one repition of either of these exercises under my body weight without assistance. I therefore used machine assistance (props to my local Planet Fitness - the best $10/mo gym I've ever used). The machine provides counterweight to body weight allowing me to maintain proper form and develop the strength necessary to perform the movements unassisted.

I presently practice these two simple series of exercises 3-5 X / week.