Hello all, Newbie here. Sleeved on 2/20,Some ?s

Lisak52
on 3/6/12 2:45 am - NY
VSG on 02/20/12
Just wanted to introduce myself.
I am Lisa a stay at home mom of 3 beautiful girls. I just turned 39 and was sleeved 2 days before my  birthday.
Today I am 17 lbs down from pre op. That is 15 days post op. I am looking to find out some info from you pros out there.
I am having issues with drinking. I can not tolerate water.It makes me sick to my stomach.Plus I am lactose intolerant. I need some suggestions from you all as to what works well for you to meet your hydration goals. I also get bad cramps in my stomach just after 2 small spoons of yogurt or any type of puree food. I can do cottage cheese,cream of wheat,but not pudding or yogurt. Is it just me or does anyone else get this also??
Shagdoll
on 3/6/12 3:29 am
Sounds like it's normal what you are going thru. I also had issues with drinking water early on. Honestly, the 1st month is tough; my surgeon even warned me. He told me his sleeve patients have a harder time the 1st month than his gastric bypass patients. Just do your best; continue to sip tha****er all day long. You dont want to get dehydrated. Take it easy on the food if you need to. I think I could barely get in two small spoonfuls myself that early on. Try to drink some high protein shakes in the meantime. I counted those shakes towards my water & protein goals. Good luck!
BTW, love your Breaking Dawn avi!!!
tall_not_venti
on 3/6/12 3:50 am
VSG on 02/23/12
Similar things happening to me, too. I got crazy pain from a pudding cup and a blended shake, but stirred shake or thinned cream of wheat do well. Also, my toothpaste causes a gag reflex, and chewable vitamins...week, they are not pretty. Water with a little flavoring does better than plain for me, and room temp or warmer. No ice. we can g get thru this, our baby tumies just need time.
cracsgrl
on 3/6/12 3:51 am