Menopause

erikalea1970
on 1/13/13 10:22 am - NJ
VSG on 06/11/12

So, I am 42 and had my sleeve surgery 7 months ago and feel incredible (85 pounds lost!!)  But I have a new worry - I need to have my ovaries surgically removed, probably this summer since I'm a teacher, due to my recently discovered BRCA mutation that puts me at an elevated risk for breast and ovarian cancer.  The surgery will put me into immediate surgical menopause, and although my docs have said I can take HRT meds to mitigate the effects, they would only be temporary with the goal to phase them out since the extra estrogen increases breast cancer risk.  I have heard that weight gain goes hand and hand with menopause, but I haven't heard WHY - is it an inevitable effect of hormone changes, or is it linked to common behavioral changes that I might be able to avoid with the help of my sleeve?  If anyone has entered menopause after sleeve surgery (either naturally or due to gynecological surgery like mine) and could offer insight, I'd really appreciate hearing about your experience!!

"Failure is not an option" - Apollo 13   

healey63
on 1/13/13 10:49 am

I had a complete hysterectomy feb 2011 and it does pu you in menopause.   I had everything removed.   I was put on the estrogen patch .05.    I have done extremely wellwith the patch and have not gained any weight.  Be sure to go on some kind of HRT because you sure dont want hotflashes!!

Mom4Jazz
on 1/13/13 9:42 pm

It's pretty simple: Your metabolism slows down after menopause. So if you keep eating the same number of calories that maintained you before menopause, you'll gain. You've probably noticed that older people tend to eat less. Do likewise and you'll be fine.

Highest weight: 335 lbs, BMI 50.9
Pre-op weight: 319 lbs, BMI 48.5
Current range: 140-144, BMI 21.3 - 22

175+ lbs lost, maintaining since February 2012

desertmom
on 1/13/13 10:36 pm - Dubai, XX
VSG on 03/13/12
Hi