The voices are getting to me...Vets, chime in, please

HEATHER H.
on 2/11/13 4:07 am - SC
VSG on 08/07/12

OK, so I am 6 months out as of the 7th of this month. Early on in my journey, Elina helped me find a path that I think has been very successful thus far. I have lost a total of 93lbs, 81lbs since surgery 8/7/12. I am now 23lbs from my goal of 150lbs (within normal BMI). That puts me at around 90% EWL.  My loss is still going pretty well. I lost 11lbs last month. The problem is, for SOME reason, I have felt confused lately, mostly due to input from fellow healthcare practitioners (I am a nurse), nutritionists, etc. who say that I should be eating at least 1200 calories, 100 carbs, blah blah. At first, I was like "screw them, what I'm doing is working". Still, some of the people I'm hearing from are people I respect very much and it is difficult to remain un-phased. In the beginning, it made sense that the "rules" were different for bariatrics because we have so much excess to pull from. Now, I'm not necessarily bariatric anymore. Does that mean the rules have changed? If not, why? I would just love to have a scientific answer that would bolster my confidence on the last leg of this journey. I want to know that I'm not jacking up my metabolism or putting myself through unnecessary Hell.  Hope this makes sense...HELP!

Highest Weight: 270   Pre-Op Weight 267    Day of Surgery: 254.5   Current: 154             Month 1: -20lbs , Month 2 -16lbs, Month 3 -15lbs Month 4 - 10lbs, Month 5 - 11lbs;  month 6 - 9lbs; month 7 - 6lbs; month 8 - 4lbs; month 9 - 5lbs; month 10 - 1lb

frisco
on 2/11/13 4:16 am

Just keep doing what your doing..... if you lost 11lbs. last month.... don't change it up !!!!

If anything to lose the last weight your gonna have to cut back.... not add.....

The next 23lbs. will have no effect on any type of metabolism issues you may have.....

You got this !!!!

frisco

SW 338lbs. GW 175lbs. Goal in 11 months. CW 148lbs. WL 190lbs.