Newbie here

TaraH82
on 3/18/13 6:48 am - VA

Hello y'all, my name is Tara and I am brand new. I have been researching this website for weeks now, gathering important information regarding my choice of wls. Y'all have helped me tremendously!!!! I went to my PCP on Friday March 15th, discussed the VSG and did all my blood work. I am def a candidate she said, and she has no problems sending in the coverage determination letter to my insurance company UHC Choice Plus. I am 5'8'' and weigh 277LBS and am 35 years old. I have PCOS (was Dx'd when I was 15yo), pre-diabetic, hypertension, hypothyroid and obviously overweight with a high BMI. My next step is for my PCP to referr me to a Gastrologist and go from there she stated. I am sooo excited to start this process. I have been on the phone with UHC asking them a lotof questions regarding the wls, and they said that the ONLY requirements for this surgery on their end is that my PCP/Surgeon needs to document that this wls is medically necessary. And I should have no issues with the approval. I sure hope so, cuz all the reading I have done on here with the denial/appeal process is depressing. I hope this is a smooth approval. I am located in Roanoke, VA, so if any other members are here too, feel free to message me. I always enjoy meeting new people :-) Well I hope to gather a lot of pre, post surgery information from everyone, as I am looking forward to hearing everything and anything about the steps to the wls and the post care. Oh, also did anyone's insuranc require the 6 month nutritional counseling or was it the surgeons doing?? I am unclear on that part. My insurance said there are no requirements prior to wls. Any info will be of help. Thanks y'all :-)

Spencerella
on 3/18/13 7:30 am - Calgary, Alberta, Canada
VSG on 10/15/12