My consultation, feelings, a bit of rambling

RoMoFo
on 4/2/13 3:51 pm
VSG on 09/19/13
So I went last week and talked to the doctor that I was referred to. I work in the medical field, so I feel like she was a little more "informative" with cases that she's had is the past etc. I have no idea why but when I was being weighed and given all the questionnaires to fill out, it started to sink in and feel real that I was actually there and getting the ball rolling. It scared the bejeeezus out of me and my heart started racing, my blood pressure read high, and I was a mess! Haha! The reality of 3/4 of your stomach being removed just all of a sudden made me a little sad. My doctor reassured me that my feelings were normal because I shared the fact that I feel that I would feel a bit sad almost as if I had lost a body part. She said its very common and suggested I go to some support groups and visit with those who have gone through the process and those that are further along in the process. Part of me is raring to go and so excited and part is scared and curious about how life will be when food becomes less important, what feeling full instead of stuffed feels like, what it's like to shop in a store for non plus size clothes, or what will I look like and how will my health be in 10 years? I think her suggestion is great and I'm looking forward to attend the support group. I don't have any kids but would like to have some in the future and I would definitely like to speak to someone that has had successful pregnancy after surgery. I feel like its the right decision and ultimately staying obese is going to deteriorate my health little by little. Heart disease is predominant in my family. I'm glad I can come here and share how I'm feeling and hopefully someone can relate. I can't wait to visit the group. I wanna know the good, the bad, and the ugly so I'm headed in the right direction.
GreenisLove
on 4/2/13 4:01 pm - CA
VSG on 05/29/13