My theory of happiness (not as off topic as you think!)

Connie S.
on 4/14/13 3:17 am - CA
VSG on 03/04/13
I am a nurse who works in gastroenterology. For many years I did flexible sigmoidoscopy as part of a colon cancer screening program, and, in the process, heard a lot of people complain about their bowel movements. They were too hard, too soft,too frequent, too infrequent, too big,too small. Over time, I came up with my list of the three things required for happiness: as much money as you want, as much sex as you want and the kind of bowel movements you want. I have since added a fourth thing to the list: as much sleep as you want, but I think that is middle age speaking. In the GI world, the goal for stools is bulky and not too hard. If it is roughly the length of your forearm and doesn't hurt coming out and is easy to clean up, you are having perfect stools.
One of the things I see on this forum are woes in the BM department, and I am not immune. It took four weeks post op for me to have anything resembling what I would consider normal. Then I got worried that I would become one of the constipated ones, so I started taking Benefiber every day, working up to a heaping tablespoon every morning in my first cup of water. I will be at six weeks tomorrow and am happy or report that, at least for today, I meet the third criteria for happiness. And I will keep going with the Benefiber.

swizzlequeen
on 4/14/13 4:01 am

This is a delightful post! I am smiling...!