six weeks' recommended leave? And, Short Term Disability question

VSG on 06/12/13

I spoke with the new doc's office today and happened to ask how many weeks they recommended I request off. The answer was 6. That seems like a lot, considering the last doc said 2. She did say they'd write me back in if I was ready to go earlier.

What's realistic? What did you have?

I am a consultant who runs from place to place and/or facilitates daylong meetings. I would really rather have my process and habits intact before I went back into crazy schedule land.

Also, anyone have any issues with their short term disability covering their time out? This policy is through Cigna. 

Thanks!

Sleeved 6/12/13 - 100 pounds lost to get to goal!

Diana E.
on 5/16/13 2:45 am
VSG on 03/27/13

I would say to initially go for the 6 weeks and then play it by ear.  Most people are back to work after 2.  Personally, I am a Stay At Home Mom... however, if I were working, there's no way I would have been ready for even a desk job after 2 weeks.  I was one of those who had a tough recovery.  You won't really know what category you will fall into, until it happens... basically, hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

If you can swing it... overall, a six week recovery is not a bad idea.  It will help you solidify your new habits, get used to your sleeve, work out any issues that may arise, plow through the fatigue that will hit you, and most likely be ready to hit the ground running at 6 weeks. :)

HW- 318    SW- 310    CW- 194.4    GW- 170-ish  Onderland: 10/30/2013

Deckeriv
on 5/16/13 2:50 am - TX
VSG on 03/26/13

My doc was okay with one week off since I have a desk job. I was tired the first week back at work and went home early every day for a nap. By three weeks after surgery I was back to normal,  energy level wise.