Nuva Ring?

megan.sherman
on 8/20/13 10:18 pm
VSG on 05/17/14

I am so paranoid about getting pregnant before surgery I asked my doctor for the Nuva Ring.  Of course, one of the possible side effects is weight gain.  Has anyone had any experience good/bad with the Nuva Ring, in general or in regards to gaining weight while using it?

I am just a few pounds from my 10% body weight loss required pre-surgery and I sure don't want to be fighting to lose weight any harder than I already am.  Any info would be appreciated!

Thank you!!

Tracy D.
on 8/20/13 10:58 pm - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

Megan - any form of hormonal contraception could possibly cause weight gain.  But the odds of that are much less with Nuva Ring than something like the depo shot.   Frankly, I work in the business, and most women have no problem with weight gain with the ring.  However, some woman like to BLAME their weight gain on their contraception ;-)

Tracy  5'3"     HW: 235  SW: 218  CW: 132    M1: -22  M2: -13  M3: -12  M4: -9  M5: -8   M6: -10   M7: -4

Goal reached in 7 months and 1 week

Lower Body Lift w/Dr. Barnthouse 7-8-15

rengirl1978
on 8/21/13 2:13 am - Denver, CO
VSG on 12/18/13

I used the Nuva Ring before, and it was HORRIBLE!! I don't recall gaining weight, but I DID GET PREGNANT ON IT!! I also got severe ovarian cysts that were so painful! I highly advise AGAINST using this! It was so bad for me! :-(

Rhiannon VSG 12/18/13 ~ Mo 1 -35lbs ~ Mo 2 -15lbs ~ Mo 3 -13lbs ~ Mo 4 -8lbs ~ Mo 5 -9lbs ~ Mo 6 -6lbs ~ Mo 7 -8lbs

If we all liked the same things, what fun would life be?

JAlston
on 8/21/13 2:21 am
VSG on 12/07/12

Hi Megan-

I am a fan of the nuvaring, have used it for over 10 years. However, it is not the most effective for birth control if you are over 190lbs. I used it to have a period, I was much heavier. I do not think I gained weight with the nuvaring, i did however gain weight on the depo shot.