Trying to decide between lapband and the sleeve.

muggys2020
on 9/19/13 3:58 am

Hello I am new to this. I am starting my way to have WLS, but I am now trying to decide between the lapband or the sleeve. I have researched both but would like others opinions. Thanks!

Jai
Member Services
on 9/19/13 4:01 am - Irvine, CA

We suggest you read all you can (see information to the right) speak to members and surgeons that do "both" procedures    

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress  

band2sleeverevision
on 9/19/13 4:10 am
VSG on 02/25/13

Your after care with the lap band is critically important because you are dependent on someone knowing whether you truly need a fill or not and can work with your issues.  The lap-band is much more variable on a day to day basis than the sleeve.  For example, when I had the lap-band there were lots of days where I couldn't eat until 1-2 in the afternoon because the band for whatever reason was tight that day.  I never have that issue with the sleeve.  I couldn't eat lettuce with the band-it would get stuck every time.  No problems eating any kind of food with the sleeve. Junk food goes down easy with both of them so you have to pay attention like any surgery.  Getting to your sweet spot in the band (i.e. the place where it's tight enough to dim your appetite but not tight enough that you can't eat solid food) is difficult.

The sleeve is permanent but given the recent data you need to plan on having your band out at some point and replacing with another surgery most likely. I had my band for 10 years and I don't know anyone in my cohort who has one still.  Once the band is out, people seem to gain weight rapidly so you will need another surgery most likely.

Given what I know now, I would go RNY, DS or sleeve rather than having 2 procedures.

Chrissy W.
on 9/19/13 4:10 am - Indianapolis, IN
VSG on 07/01/13