Need help desperately!!!

Menchi
on 9/20/13 10:22 am
VSG on 09/11/13

A friend of mine had the surgery at the same time I did, 9 days ago, she has eaten something she maybe should have waited to eat and is now very sick.  This may have been okay in about 7 days.  Will this pass, is there something she needs to do, or does she need to go to urgent care?

christinahelena
on 9/20/13 10:35 am - CA

In order to help we need to know what she and how much ... And what problems she is having.

Cannot be vague  ... She could call drs office .. 

Christina

Menchi
on 9/20/13 10:42 am
VSG on 09/11/13

She made a soup out of mac and cheese, I doubt more then 4oz.  She is very nausea and pain.  The Doctor is unreachable right now

christinahelena
on 9/20/13 10:58 am - CA

Okay... First I am not a doctor and this is not a substitute for medical advice.

What she did was very dangerous at only a week post op when fluids ate the order of the day ... And sips. At one year out I could not tolerate 2 ounces of bread or pasta.

It is unlikely that she will NOT vomit as she shouldn't have room for that. She could very well rupture her staple line and get a leak which are life threatening, so YES I would take her to the hospital!

I'm sure she feels upset and stupid and embarrassed and her behavior certainly needs to be addressed with her dr and therapist as to why she chose to be non compliant....but what is important NOW is her life and it is potentially  that serious dependent upon how much she ate ( further out its the foamies/ regurgitation and a lesson learned. But right now it could be more than that and she should be evaluated)

My opinion ... 

Christina

christinahelena
on 9/20/13 11:17 am - CA

Btw every dr has an on call emergency number or should have ... Use it!

was this pureed or eaten as noodles and broth and since everything is is measured  he/ she should know how much exactly they consumed....