To Newbies....from a Newbie (Vets pls feel free to offer input)

ABath
on 11/12/13 1:57 am - WI
VSG on 11/26/13

I’m a newbie for surgery but I've been reading these boards for several years now (Aetna denied and then hubby left so had to put surgery off for a while). I am now scheduled for surgery on November 26th and thought I would share a few things I’ve learned as a newbie just in case it is helpful. Vets, feel free to jump in if I am incorrect as I don’t want to put bad info out.

I have read so many posts about people having a hard time on the pre-op diet and then struggling with missing favorite foods right after surgery. I knew that I was addicted to caffeine, carbs, and sugar and the withdrawals would be bad, especially with all three at once. I determined that if I was going to have such a drastic surgery that I wanted to succeed and I wanted things to go as smooth as possible. So...I decided to take my 3 month multidisciplinary and waiting time for insurance approval to make as many lifestyle changes as possible.

Let me first say again that I am pre-surgery and my 1 week liquid protein diet starts next Tuesday but I decided my new life style would be easier if I eased into it by my surgery date and didn't go cold turkey. This doesn't mean that I never eat any carbs, sugar, etc. right now but I've gotten down to one or two bites versus a whole serving and I am finding that I they don't satisfy me now. Hopefully, it won't even bother me to make the final few changes by my surgery date on 11/26.