Newbie Here -- Revised LB to VSG on 1/2/2014

SpideyMom
on 1/6/14 12:34 pm

Happy new year to me! I had my horrible lapband removed and had a VSG on Jan. 2. I am in the hardest part of it all, I believe -- the liquid only phase. I've had a lot of incisional pain, but no internal pain, thankfully! A good friend of mine told me my pain would be less if I kept hydrated, and by that she said (from experience) 1 sip every 30 seconds. Well, I can tell you, it's true. I have much less pain now that I'm rehydrated. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

A little about me, I was banded in 2009, lost 113 pounds, and life was great....until it wasn't. Started having terrible band problems, couldn't keep food down, all restriction was taken out, and I regained 75 pounds over a year and a half. Now I start the climb back down. Was really scared to do the VSG revision, but decided it was best for my health. Would love to find people here to connect with!

Ann

LapBand surgery May 2009; revision to VSG Jan. 2, 2014

Ihearttennis
on 1/6/14 12:45 pm - LA
VSG on 04/24/13

Welcome! Glad you're here  and good luck.  I do believe you are in the hardest stage right now. A few months from now you will be reaping the rewards and  won't even remember it, kinda like childbirth.  

"Whether you believe you can or you can't ....you are right! " by Henry Ford

DesertRose
on 1/6/14 12:47 pm
VSG on 01/08/14

Welcome aboard!

I'm having my surgery on Wednesday, 8 January.  Mine is just a straight sleeve, not a revision; I didn't like the idea of having medical equipment put in my body, so I never seriously looked at a band.  (It'd be different, I guess, if I needed a knee or hip replacement or a pacemaker or something like that, but the band just squicked me I guess.)

Thanks for the tip about sipping every 30 seconds.  I think I'll try that when I can have liquids after my surgery.