6 month report

cindylou59
on 4/2/14 11:51 am

I had my surgery Oct 1 2013. It has definitely been a journey! I can proudly say I am 72 pounds less today than I was on the day of my surgery!

The greatest challenge has been eating enough protein and of course the exercise!

I am a researcher, so I had read everything I could get my hands on before my surgery.  I was prepared to have this regimented meal plan. Then reality set in! I do not cook a lot just because of the time involved. I know this is not a good thing, but it is real life.  I have made an effort to cook 3 - 4 times a week, then I eat left overs. 

My husband and I eat out often. I have learned my limit is 4 - 6 bites. I don't eat any bread and really have no craving for it. If there is a desert I may eat one bite.  It has become comical. The manager has come to our terrible numerous times because he/she thinks there is something wrong with my food because I only eat a few bits.  I just tell them I have stomach issues and can only eat a small portion. I always take home the leftovers. In fact I usually ask the waiter to bring a to go plate when they bring my meal.

I do not eat processed foods. I am an "all natural" food person. Which is difficult by itself and is even more difficult after VSG. I will not eat anything with artificial sweeteners or high fructose corn syrup. Artificial sweeteners WILL cause you to retain fluid and causes a long list of other issues. And I don't even want to go into HFCS.

I eat a lot of fruit and drink diluted fruit juices.  I no longer drink carbonated beverages. I am tempted, but I just don't.  I stopped this before my surgery and haven't went back. When I am in a restaurant, I just order water with lemon and drink a few sips.  At home, I may drink a diluted lemonade or unsweetened tea. If I do sweeten anything, it is with cane syrup (that we make on our farm) or honey. I only use a small amount. It is much better for me than the artificial sweeteners and HFCS.