My eyes are really opened now!!!!

bobbio56
on 4/8/14 6:44 am - San Angelo , TX
VSG on 06/10/14

I just had my chest xrays done getting everything out of the way for surgery and got some bad news. They say I have congestive heart failure!!! I am soo scared!! My dad was only 63 when he passed from diabetes and heart and had congestive heart failure!! I am 57!!! so hope I can still have this surgery!!!!

VSG ON 6/10/2014  HW 370, SW 348, CW 326 M1:??

Dreamingofbeaches
on 4/8/14 6:55 am
with

I'm sure this is a very scary time.  I hope you have a good support system to help you as you adjust to this new information.  While I am certainly no medical expert, I know I have heard of many people living very long, long lives with congestive heart failure. 

FindingMyWeigh
on 4/8/14 7:07 am
VSG on 10/30/13

Hang in there! Your surgeon will be apprised of your congestive heart failure and discuss any additional surgery risks that arise because of it. I'm not a doctor, but many obese and morbidly obese people with serious co-morbidities have had WLS and gone on to healthier lives 

Colleen 

Lisa J.
on 4/8/14 7:10 am - OK

I'm obviously not a Dr either, but they probably can control it with medicine and you'll probably be cleared to still have the surgery because in the end, it's what will make you healther!!

Don't get down over this, be pumped that someone caught it!

Lisa J
HW: 277   Day of Surgery: 234    CW: 161 Goal: 135 sounds good but....? Who knows!

HW/277   EVAL/260  PREOP/246  SURGERY DAY/243   CW/162 1/3/2011
Mary Gee
on 4/8/14 7:17 am - AZ
VSG on 05/14/14

I have Congestive Heart Failure too.  I'm 62.  Found out a year and a half-ago when I couldn't catch my breath.  I was hospitalized for five days.  I'm on medication and have not had any additional issues.  I do get tired more easily.

I've been cleared for surgery - had to see a cardiologist and have some testing -- but he gave the ok for WLS.  

Feel free to PM me if you'd like.  

HW: 380 SW: 324 GW: 175