4 YEAR SURGIVERSARY

VeraG
on 5/8/14 12:38 am - Bonner Springs, KS

I'm a little behind, but I wanted to get my labs back in case there was something I wanted to reference, but happy to say my labs are perfect!  I have absolutely no issues and would do it again in a second. I can still only eat about 4 oz of dense protein and I still get the foamies when I overeat or in my case eat bread or pasta. Having said that, I would like to share something I learned this year.  I started lifting weights in October again to get more muscle mass.  Within a couple months I noticed my body shape changing and my clothes fitting tighter around my quads and what not.  I got on the scale which I rarely do anymore and I was up 10 lbs.  Now I know that this is from building muscle, but in my head I immediatly started beating myself up.  Then for the next couple of months I tried to frantically drop the weight before my yearly check up with my surgeon.  I started really going down a bad path with negative thoughts.  Tell me if this sounds familiar.  I would think;  your pants are tight, your pathetic....why did you have a handful of almonds, where is your willpower..... and those are the nicer thoughts.  I started seeing fat that really wasn't there, telling myself my blood work was going to be terrible because, well, because everything else I felt was bad, so I guess I thought that would be too.  I even bit my husbands head off the morning of my appointment because I was so stressed out.  My surgeon reassured me that this type of weight gain was OK and I'm in great shape.  What is so shocking to me about this whole story is how fast and easy it was to start hating myself again.  I totally had to rein in those thoughts and everytime one crept in, to turn it positive and tell myself to knock it off.