First Post

husbandfatherandfrien
d14

on 5/31/14 4:17 am

Hello to anyone *****ads this.  I had the VSG surgery last Thursday, May 29, and so far, I have no idea what is going on.  I get some pretty strong painful burning feelings in my stomach when I try to turn my stomach while lying in bed or while sitting up.  But, other than that, I feel like it has been pretty successful so far.  I am still learning how much I can water and protein I can drink without feeling like I am gonna throw it back up.  I haven't actually had anything come back up yet but I have dry heaved a few times.  When I first awoke from surgery, I am not gonna lie, I immediately thought what have I done to myself.  That first night the pain and uncomfortability was pretty unbearable.  Its only been a few days and most of that has subsided.  I don't seem to have a lot of pain when I walk so I am going to go to a local track later this afternoon and walk for at least a half an hour.  

Anyways, I am mainly posting this so I can keep track of how things are going for me but if you took the time to read my ramblings, I appreciate it.  I am very thankful that I was able to have this surgery and I am very excited to see the improvements in my daily life as they unfold.

Have a great day

chriswife19
on 5/31/14 4:53 am
VSG on 05/28/14

I had my surgery the day before yours and boy can I relate to being woken in the operating room and thinking 'What did I just do to myself?'  ;)  The first time the nurse had me sit up I was very dizzy and when I tried to stand my knees started to go out from under me.  But I was determined.  I didn't put myself through that to not go at this 110% so I asked if I could sit in the chair for a frew minutes then realized I didn't have my glasses on and through that might have made me woozy too.  After a few minutes in the chair with the glasses on I took a short walk and from there on I've been trying to walk every couple of hours.