Did anyone else have to crush or open thier meds and take with applesauce?

nursebonnie
on 9/15/14 5:11 am
VSG on 08/19/14

I was told to either crush or open capsules and take my meds on applesauce or pudding for 6 weeks. I am a nurse and can understand the science behind this, but then again, could a pill or capsule ( both small) really get stuck in the staple line?

I also had to stop my hormones for three weeks while I took the Lovenox shots for blood clots. Boy was I glad to bet back on those puppies. If I had any ideas of weaning myself off them that put an end to that!!

Bonnie

snoopygirl1968
on 9/15/14 5:46 am - Lisle, IL
VSG on 09/09/14 with

I have been taking my meds whole....just one at a time with small sips of water (or crystal light).  I have not had any problems taking them whole.  I had asked pre-op and was told I would need to crush them, but then when I was in the hospital, I took them whole and was told it was perfectly ok to do that.

follow my journey:  http://snoopygirljourney.blogspot.com

56sunShine14
on 9/15/14 5:52 am
On September 15, 2014 at 12:11 PM Pacific Time, nursebonnie wrote:

I was told to either crush or open capsules and take my meds on applesauce or pudding for 6 weeks. I am a nurse and can understand the science behind this, but then again, could a pill or capsule ( both small) really get stuck in the staple line?

I also had to stop my hormones for three weeks while I took the Lovenox shots for blood clots. Boy was I glad to bet back on those puppies. If I had any ideas of weaning myself off them that put an end to that!!

Bonnie

But then again, do you really want to find out if it can get stuck??  I understand why you want to ask this, I have had to crush or empty mine for 7 years with the lap band.  And antibiotics??