Has anyone had problems with losing too much weight.

texasbumpkin
on 8/14/15 9:30 pm
VSG on 10/06/15

I am still preop, but have one concern. Has anyone had the sleeve and lost too much weigh?  I am concerned about my calorie intake being too low after I lose try the weight. I have a very active job where I am going all shift (I am a nurse)

more2adore
on 8/14/15 10:52 pm
VSG on 03/28/15

I would imagine that would be pretty rare with the sleeve since there's no malabsorptive component. Most people find their ability to eat more increases as time goes by - at, say, a year out, when the sleeve has matured, some have to carefully monitor calories to make sure they're eating little enough. It is possible to stretch your sleeve out, though not ever back to the full size it was before, supposedly. There was a study that came out recently that said by five years out a significant number of sleevers had put 25% of their excess weight lost back on... so like I said, I doubt losing TOO MUCH will be a problem. If it were, you could simply increase your carb intake and/or your calories. 

VSG 3/28/2015 | HW 600+ | SW 488.2 | CW 398.4

frisco
on 8/14/15 11:18 pm

Here is some reality.....

The national average for WL with the VSG is some where around 50-60% EWL.

The VSG is NOT a standardized procedure. Individual surgeon stats are more accurate.

The truth is that most people don't make goal.

Have some people lost to much weight? I'm sure there are, but there are probably surrounding cir****tances like complications. 

Active jobs are a good thing !

Hope this helps.

frisco

SW 338lbs. GW 175lbs. Goal in 11 months. CW 148lbs. WL 190lbs.

" To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art "

VSG Maintenance Group Forum

http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/VSGM/discussion/

CAFE FRISCO at LapSF.com

Dr. Paul Cirangle

cappy11448
on 8/15/15 1:50 am