Newbie-A few questions

healthymekg
on 11/5/15 12:22 pm

Hi.  I finally set up an account today and got the nerve to post for the first time.  I have been researching WLS since 2005.  Started with interest in LAP band.  I then met my now husband, got married and had 2 babies so I kind of put it off.  I have continued to go up and up in weight and I have been researching the VSG for the last 2.5 or so years.  I am done having kids and I am ready to take this huge step and change my life and be healthy and happy for me and my kids and husband.  My husband isn't 100% sure this is the right thing to do, as he thinks this is the "easy way out".  I have tried telling him that it in fact is not the easy way out it is a tool to help me become healthy!  If I don't utilize this tool for the rest of my life, it will not work.  Anyways, I haven't told anyone but my husband and my parents.  My parents support me 100% and I'm sure my husband will come around, he is a worry-wart and this is his "macho" way of handling this-if that makes sense. 

I met with my surgeon when I was pregnant with my son who is now 19 months old, and my original plan was to have surgery at 6 weeks post-partum so I would still be on maternity leave and no one would know that I went in to have surgery.  My surgeon and my primary doctor suggested I wait until my baby was a little older so I could focus more on me and my new lifestyle rather than this huge change along with a brand new baby with a crazy schedule.  I now am meeting with my surgeon Nov 11 and hopefully get this ball rolling again to get approved and surgery scheduled. 

I intend on not telling anyone other than my employer, my parents and my husband.  I'm not ashamed to have this surgery, I'm just a private person and don't feel that it is really anyone else's business.  Has anyone else went this route?  How did you handle people asking questions etc?