Staple line leaks

Tracy W.
on 12/9/15 9:02 pm
VSG on 01/13/16 with

I am having surgery in 1 month  I am a nurse and having been reading complications.  I have had 2 bands, thus am considered a revision which is a higher risk for leaks.  Have any of you had leaks?

Grim_Traveller
on 12/10/15 5:52 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Have you asked if they found scar tissue or other damage the band my have done to your stomach? If there is damage, it could impact your next surgery. Some people are told they should have a sleeve instead of RNY, or RNY instead of a sleeve, because of band damage.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

Debbie R.
on 12/10/15 7:37 am - Las Cruces, NM

I had 2 bands too. One in 2007 and the next 2008. I had the last one removed in March 2014. The surgeon was going to do a sleeve 4 months later but my insurance wouldn't cover it. So I have a different insurance and I had the sleeve done on Nov. 3. The doctor told me there was a lot of scare tissue and the surgery took longer than expected but he was able to work through it. I had no damage done to my stomach from the bands just a lot of scar tissue. I am now 5 weeks out and feel fantastic. The recovery has been better than I thought. It is highly unlikely there is any damage done to your stomach and your surgeon wont continue with the operation if he sees any damage. They should do a swallow the next day. Always talk to your doctor if you have any concerns.

(deactivated member)
on 12/10/15 8:47 am, edited 12/10/15 5:52 am
VSG on 12/17/15