Surgery Date and Post-Op Anxiety

GerryF2003
on 6/27/16 5:34 am
RNY on 12/11/17

Hi All,

I've been lurking for a while, but this is my first post.  I've been considering bariatric surgery for the past 10 years, but finally felt ready to do it and settled on getting the sleeve. (It helped that my insurance finally covered that procedure.) I just got my surgery date for August,  but this weekend I was suddenly overcome with a wave of fear and anxiety.  I'm not worried about the procedure, but I'm suddenly terrified of what life is going to be like without this "shell"  of fat around me. I'm beginning to feel like an exposed anfg vulnerable child, and I was wondering if any of you have gone through the same thing? If so how did you deal? 

Dee R.
on 6/27/16 7:13 am - CA

I think a lot of people go through that type of anxiety.  It IS a total lifestyle change.  I went through it myself.  But, I quickly got over it when I started seeing the amazing results I was getting!  And I totally wish I had done it a lot earlier.  Good Luck to you Gerry!  Keep reading on this forum and get all the info and advise you can.  The vets on this board are super helpful! 

FuturePinUp
on 6/27/16 7:31 am

Life is going to be AMAZING without the shell of fat around you! All those little things I used to consider and think about when placed in so many situations are all gone! No more eating and thinking people are staring at me because I'm a big girl stuffing her face. No more checking weight limits before buying chairs. No more fear of not being able to go on rides in the water park. No more feeling huge because I'm taking up more space when sitting on a plane, subway, or even sharing the backseat in a car. No more scootching in and pulling my arms in when in a theater seat. No more back pain when walking a while. No more shopping at the "big" stores.