Dietician ?

Ruthular
on 9/22/16 9:13 am
VSG on 06/30/16

Hi! I am a newbie (12 weeks out) and I have noticed that a lot of vets complain about the advice they got from their NUTs. Can you give some examples of their bad advice? I am not thrilled with my dietician but this is what she does for a living so she should know better than me, but sometimes I wonder...

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 9/22/16 10:51 am
RNY on 08/05/19

I've seen LOTS of bad advice over the years. Off the top of my head:

• You're losing slowly because you're eating too much and you're in "starvation mode"
  • Add carbs to lose faster
  • It's important to eat MUCH more when you exercise (500+ calories)
  • Use protein shakes/bars as a long-term strategy to meet macros

There seem to be two main problems with dietitians: lack of familiarity with bariatric patients, and not keeping up with current research, both of which cause serious problems.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

Grim_Traveller
on 9/22/16 11:25 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Keep in mind there are differences between nutritionists and Registered Dietitian. 

Anyone can call themselves a nutritionist. I can spend a hundred bucks online and get a certificate naming me a nutritionist. It's pretty meaningless.

A Registered Dietitian has to have college degrees, take exams to be certified, and take cpntinuing education classes to keep their certification. So they have a lot of education. But, they may know very little about nutrition as it applies to us. A lot of what they learn is specific to infants, children, the elderly, etc etc. And it just doesn't apply to us.

And forget about surgeons. They may have had zero education in nutrition.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.