Why do diet plans vary so much??

Brimiller808
on 11/11/13 5:48 am - Austin, TX
RNY on 10/29/13

I meant to ask my doctor this question this morning and totally blanked it out. My diet is two weeks clear liquids, two weeks full liquids, two weeks puréed and the I can start experimenting. Other here are eating fish and other things (healthy, of course) at tw weeks out. Envious?  Maybe a little. ; )

cajungirl
on 11/11/13 5:54 am

Surgeon's preference, no rhyme or reason.  Yes they vary tremendously.  I know mine did also and it was the surgeon's standard program because he saw more success with it for his patients than anything else.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05

9 years committed ~  100% EWL and Maintaining

www.dazzlinglashesandbeyond.com

poet_kelly
on 11/11/13 5:56 am - OH

Because they are largely based on a doctor's own experience and personal preferences, not on science.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PetHairMagnet
on 11/11/13 9:55 am
RNY on 05/13/13
On November 11, 2013 at 1:56 PM Pacific Time, poet_kelly wrote:

Because they are largely based on a doctor's own experience and personal preferences, not on science.

Exactly!

HW333--SW 289--GW of 160 5' 11" woman.  I only know the way I know & when you ask for input/advice, you'll get the way I've been successful through my surgeon & nutritionist. Please consult your surgeon & nutritionist for how to do it their way.  Biggest regret? Not doing this 10 years ago! Every day is better than the day before...and it was a pretty great day!

Katie K.
on 11/11/13 5:59 am - Maitland, FL
RNY on 06/25/13