worried - why do I feel like it might not work for me?

deemyers
on 2/19/13 7:14 am
VSG on 02/05/13

I am 14 days post op and down 15 pounds. Still on full liquids and learning how to work around that food group (hee hee). This sounds silly I know, but I feel like maybe this isn't going to work for me. Its a little frustrating, since I did go through hell to be where I am out now. I am hopeful, but what if I only go down 15 pounds and then..thats it? I am not worried about the plan, there is no question I will follow it, but what if by some damn fluke of nature it wont happen? I know its dumb but its this voice in the back of my head saying...."you might be the fluke that this surgery doesn't work for."

Calking
on 2/19/13 7:22 am
VSG on 05/31/12

I have never had any doubts because the math is in your favor.  Statistically if you follow the plan and do what you are supposed to without cheating it will work.  The proof is in this forum.  I am a math teacher and as I said with the random sample provided by this board and my surgeon as well as at least four others I spoke with ... you will succeed.  

Also you are getting close to that three week stall.  Most all of us will stall at three weeks out.  You can stall a bit earlier than that or a bit later than that.  Again statistics say you are about due for the stall.  Usually before a stall things slow down.  It is a cycle of all things fantastic.  You come out of surgery and loose quickly.  Things slow down.  You stall (greatest thing ever as your weight redistributes and you loose inches during the stall ... make sure you are measuring things so you can see the inches fall off).  After the stall things kick into high gear again.  Then they will slow down and you will stall ... and so on.  

So statistically you are well within the normal range of what happens to all of us.  Hope this helps.

Isn’t it a bit unnerving that doctors call what they do their “practice”?  -  George Carlin             

Shagdoll