Sugery in 2 days!

TheAuntieMonster
on 11/30/13 3:51 pm - NY
VSG on 12/03/13

Hi everyone! *hugs*

I've been lurking here for sometime, but I promised myself I'd make at least ONE post before my surgery. I'm getting sleeved in 2 days! I can hardly believe it. I've been trying for the last 5 years but things kept getting in the way. Finally now, all the pieces are coming together.  I've got the doctor of my dreams Dr. Yatco @ Lenox Hill Hospital in NY - I'm so thrilled!  What's strange is how oddly calm I am, considering this is my first surgery of any kind. I guess I'm just so ready to get started on this new stage in my life.

I'm so pleased to meet all of you and I hope to get to you know you all better on this journey together :)

The_True_KayD
on 11/30/13 7:54 pm

I will be sleeved on Tuesday. Like you, I am calm about it. I have been considering surgery for over 4 years and finally things fell into place this past spring. I know that there will be some challenges but I am know that I can trust myself to work through those challenges and learn from them. I have accepted the fact that I using food as a pain killer only created more pain for me! I have established a support system of others who have the sleeve. They have been amazing during my pre-op process and know that they will be there for me at post-op. I know that this is the right tool for me to return to and maintain a healthy weight. 

Wishing you an easy recovery and great success! 

HW: 249  SW: 233  VSG: Dec 3, 2013    

LuLuSunshine
on 11/30/13 10:53 pm - Grand Rapids, MI

Your comment about using food as a pain killer really hit home for me. I know I have too been using food as a painkiller for decades of my life and that coming to grips with that fact will help me on my  WLS journey....thank you for sharing and good luck to you this week. I hope your recovery is smooth and uneventful.