ANyone else absolutely hate exercise? Lost 172 lbs without it

RainbowRN
on 8/20/14 4:41 am - OH
RNY on 03/12/13

I hate exercising.  I had RNY 18 months ago and I have lost 172 lbs without it but now I am stuck!  I weigh 201 and I am DYING to see Onederland!!  I know that exercise is good for me but I just can't seem to make myself do it.  I know that I'm not going to lose anymore without it so i have to start. 

I am a nurse and I do work 5 twelve hour shifts a week and have for the last couple months.  We are moving next month and I have to buy several things for the move so that's why I'm working so much.  I am usually too tired to go workout. 

So, I'm going to join Planet Fitness.  What do you guys recommend?  Treadmill, eliptical or bike?  Where do I start if i want to burn calories to lose more weight, I don't want to build muscle yet.   How many days a week?  Give me some advice fellow RNY people! :)

HW: 373 GW: 170 HT: 5'10"

mschwab
on 8/20/14 5:16 am
RNY on 11/21/14

I'm pre-op, but have started an exercise program in order to be as strong as possible for surgery, and to establish the exercise habit.  I'm with you.  I thought I hated exercise.   I started taking Pilates classes in April, and imagine my surprise to find out that I love it.  I like its focus on strengthening core muscles, building flexibility and improved balance.  When I started it I thought that there was no way I would be able to do the exercises, but I was wrong.  I can do them, and I am starting in advanced classes today.  I also walk on days I don't have Pilates.  I always have music when I'm walking.  Otherwise I get bored and don't walk as far.

I think the key is to find something you like to do, and then schedule time to do it.  I actually have to put exercise on my calendar, or I know I won't do it.  I will be joining a gym when the weather turns and walking outside becomes less attractive.  I also want to start yoga classes after surgery.