What do you all do to help prevent extra skin?

Grim_Traveller
on 3/2/15 8:10 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

The best way is to just eat enough bacon that the grease starts coming out your pores. Then your skin will be saturated.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

tstowe
on 3/3/15 12:46 am

Eat it or rub it on?

LOL

poet_kelly
on 3/2/15 2:02 pm - OH

The way to prevent extra skin would have been to prevent gaining extra weight.  Once you've got extra skin, you've got it.  You can't ungrow skin with coconut oil or exercise.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Starlene02
on 3/2/15 4:10 pm
VSG on 11/11/15

I never suggested that you could ungrow extra skin.  If a person loses weight slowly they are less likely to have extra skin because the skin has time to adapt. Just like with any other part of your body your skin heals and rejuvenates itself. There are ways of helping it to do that even if it doesn't prevent it entirely. That's all this discussion was about. I never said Coconut oil would prevent extra skin, just that those things might help your skin along.

If you feel like quitting, think of why you started.

Grim_Traveller
on 3/2/15 8:24 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

These are all myths. If you gain weight quickly and lose quickly, your skin will stretch and then shrink. If you have been obese longer, your skin doesn't just stretch, you actually grow new skin. You will always have that skin, unless it is surgically removed. It won't shrink, it just shrivels.