question for those that don't tell people about having WLS

poet_kelly
on 10/3/14 4:40 am - OH

Why would it seem strange to you if someone did not want to talk about their personal medical stuff?

I agree with you, saying only "I had WLS" would only be a small fraction of the story.  And I appreciate you pointing that out because I hadn't thought about that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

KattattaK
on 10/29/14 11:56 am

Great comment!

Grim_Traveller
on 10/2/14 11:17 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

A lot fewer men have WLS than women, and an even smaller percentage of those are on OH or go to support groups. So I have a pretty small number of men on which to base this. But most men just say they had surgery, and that's it.

It never even occurred to me to hide it, or give a half answer. Maybe we just care less what others think?

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

poet_kelly
on 10/2/14 11:23 pm - OH

I think that might be true.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

selhard
on 10/3/14 1:12 am - MN
RNY on 11/26/12

Thanks for the first chuckle of the day and reaffirming how much I envy men in general.  Many men like to fix a problem and move on.  Many women, like me, like to hash things over.  (Can't tell you how many times my DH has asked me when I'm going to "let go" and enjoy)